MK Awards 2013

This year sees the 7th annual MK Awards taking place featuring the BEST of what SA has to offer in 10 categories.

MK Awards logo

The event will be held this year once again at The State Theatre in Pretoria on 24 March 2013.

Once again, MK has done a new introduction with the introduction of “Best SA Music Festival” and “Best Solo” categories. These categories allowed for YOU the fan of the music to vote for your favourite act in these respective categories. The artists and festival who came out with the most nominations by 25 January were included as official nominees.

So good to see they are trying to make things different every year, I remember announcing the “Best Indie” and “Best Dance” categories for last year’s awards like it was yesterday 🙂

Now that the full list of MK Awards 2013 nominees have been announced, viewers will have between 1 February and 8 March 2013, to vote on MK’s website and Facebook page.

The nominees for 2013 are:

Best Video

Die Heuwels Fantasties – Verraadplaas
Tailor – Wolf
The Frown – The National
The Parlotones – Honey Spiders
Van Coke Kartel – Tot Die Son Uitkom
Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame you

Best Newcomer

Gangs of Ballet – Hello Sweet World
Goodnight Wembley – Time Machine
Spoegwolf – Lenie Blou
Tailor – Wolf
Toya DeLazy – Pump It On
Woodstock Mafia – Electric Light

Best Group

Die Antwoord – Baby Is On Fire
ISO – Destiny
The Plastics – Stereo Kids
Van Coke Kartel – Dis ‘n Land
Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame You

Best Rock

Jack Parow ft. Francois van Coke – Hard Partytjie Hou
Taxi Violence – Unholy
Van Coke Kartel – Dis ‘n Land
Woodstock Mafia – Electric Light
Zebra & Giraffe – I’ll Blame you

Best SFX/Animation

Absinthe – Love Will Tear US Apart
Haezer ft. Lark – Brave
Mr Sakitumi – Jungle Jimmy
The Frown – The National
The Parlotones – Honey Spiders

Best Indie

Ashtray Electric – Bittersweet Manipulator
Black Handed Kites – Up
Mug-Shot – Bare Bones
Shortstraw – One Long Day
The Plastics – Stereo Kids

Best Dance

Die Antwoord – Baby Is On Fire
Double Adapter – Eat You Alive
Goodluck – Harlem
Johnny Neon – Hearts
Pascal & Pearce – Disco Sun

Best Solo

Bouwer Bosch ft. Jaco van der Merwe – (K)anker
ChianoSky – Sick Sick Sick
Jeremy Loops – Howling
Shotgun Tori – Sweet Weather
Toya DeLazy – Love Is In The Air

Best Live Act

Gangs of Ballet
Jeremy Loops
The Black Cat Bones
Van Coke Kartel

Best SA Music Festival

Oppikoppi 2012
RAMfest 2012
Rocking The Daisies 2012
Synergy 2012
Up The Creek 2012

Voting has officially begun, and will end at 12:00 on 8 March 2013.

To get voting, head over to:

For exclusive updates on the MK Awards 2013, be sure to follow MK on twitter as well as Facebook below:

Twitter: @mktv_ #MKAwards

I know who I will be voting for, make sure you get your vote for your favourite act in.

See you at the awards!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s